Mixing up my Fitness

3

01/12/2015 by therudster23

Hello everyone. I apologize for not being on a blogging “schedule” I just realized I like to blog on the fly. I have been soaking up the last few weeks of break, and as I wrote down my fitness goals for 2015, I realized I have been feeling bored in the gym, craving variety. As much I love strength training and cardio ( which has done wonders for my body, health, and metabolism).

I have been wanting to try something new and different. My good friend Brittany took a class at Orange Theory Fitness in Philly, a few weeks ago and raved how much she enjoyed it, and encouraged me to try out the free session they offer. I realized there was a studio pretty close to my house. I jumped on the opportunity!

OT sign

After researching online about the “Orange Theory” I was very excited to try it out. Basically The Orange Theory is based around 3 main concepts BASE PUSH ALL OUT.

“Like any theory, ours is backed by science. The idea of Orangetheory is simple: a 60-minute workout designed to push you into the Orange Zone. This creates “Excess Post-Exercise Oxygen Consumption,” or EPOC. It’s what burns calories after your workout and gives you noticeable, lasting results with Orangetheory Fitness. I have only provided the basic definition of the theory given on the website, I would encourage everyone to check out their website www.orangetheoryfitness.com

TRX

The workout incorporates both strength and cardio training, what more can a fit girl ask for? The room even has an orange tint, cool right!

OT

OT tv

The instructor tells you what zone your heart rate should be in during the class, and you are provided with a heart rate monitor which links to the tv, so you can see exactly what zone you heart rate is in, as well as as your calories burned. Your goal is to reach the “orange zone” for at least 10-15 minutes of your workout. Modern technology is amazing!

They are located all over the United States and I would definitely recommend everyone to try out their free session.

I went today and absolutely loved it! It was exactly what I was looking for. The class pushed me out of my comfort zone, which I need. They offered me a great deal, and while I will still keep my gym membership, this is the perfect mix it up activity I was looking for!

I hope everyone has a great week, I will keep you posted on my results with Orange Theory!

Have you ever tried Orange Theory?

What are your fitness goals for 2015?

3 thoughts on “Mixing up my Fitness

  1. ashley says:

    Thanks for the write up on this gym. I’ve heard a bit about it but wasn’t clear on the details. Now I need to try it!

    Like

  2. klmorgan41 says:

    Hi! Love the subject of your post here, and I see you have a couple of other pages about trying out new fitness practices too! I am planning on writing some similar type blog posts while trying to get back into shape. I look forward to reading your future posts 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

No Instagram images were found.