New Year New Goals

1

12/30/2014 by therudster23

Hello everyone! I can’t believe that New Years Eve is is tomorrow. I hope everyone has enjoyed their holiday so far. I know I have, it has been a busy 2 weeks for me, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I have been able to see so many family members and friends, and spend lots of time with my mom which is always the best. Is it just me or has the year just flown by? I feel like the older I get the faster time moves. Some days I wish I could just press the pause button.

Last week during dinner date with my friend Caitlin, she asked me what did 2015 look like for me.

Then it hit me, I hadn’t even thought about my goals and aspirations for the new year yet.  I pride myself on being a very reflective person who always strives to improve on myself, daily, not just when the new year comes around. We had an amazing chat about it, and I have asked the same question to a few of my family members and closest friends. However, I don’t like to call them New Years “Resolutions”, but goals 🙂

resolutions

I found my goal list from last year and I was pleasantly surprised. I had pretty much achieved all the items on the list.

As I went to went to write my list for this year ( remember always write them down, it holds you more accountable) I realized there would be one item that WOULDN’T be on my list.

LOSING WEIGHT!

For as long as I can remember, losing the “last 5 lbs” or ” reducing sweets” or some diet or weight loss goal has always been number 1 on my list.

I was overcome with happiness when I realized I had no desire to add that to my 2015 list. I realized how much I have grown and changed this last year. I have become more confident in my body. I have refocused my energy into being healthy, strong and fit..not just skinny. I have found a lifestyle that is sustainable and makes me feel great ( eating 80/20 paleo, unprocessed foods and enjoying treats every now and then.)  To some people this may not seem like a big deal, but to me this is HUGE! I have been a chronic “dieter”, but I no longer view myself that way..just a girl who loves sweet potatoes, protein, veggies and frozen yogurt, wine and dark chocolate. Life is about balance remember! I have learned life is much too short to always be on a “diet.” Just be consistent, and enjoy the foods you love in moderation.

I am entering a very exciting phase of my life, as I apply for my first full-time “big girl job” as a teacher for next fall, move out on my own and experiencing all the other new and exciting 25-year-old things.

2014 was quite an amazing and unpredictable journey.I am so excited to see what 2015 brings!

Hope everyone enjoys their holidays with the ones they love most!

What is on your goal or resolutions list this year?

One thought on “New Year New Goals

  1. Ashley @MilesonOats says:

    I love this post, and that you take time to reflect on yourself and life. I find that the practice of self reflection really helps me appreciate every day and where I’ve come from. This year I want to truly learn my new career and continue to find balance with nutrition, fitness, and social life. Lovely post darlin’ Can’t wait to make more memories with you in 2015 ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

