WIAW- Paleo Pumpkin Waffles

11

11/05/2014 by therudster23

Happy Wednesday!  I have a great recipe to share. Fall is in full swing and so is pumpkin everything. It may be November already but I feel pumpkin is always appropriate 🙂

pumpkin 2

It seems like every season more and more pumpkin creations are born. Trader Joes and Target are like pumpkin heaven.

pumpkin meme

I am a huge lover of pumpkin, and have been craving Pumpkin pancakes  specifically ones that are Paleo Friendly. I recently bought The Paleo Kitchen Cookbook by George Bryant and Juli Bauer. As soon as I spotted the Pumpkin Waffle Recipe, I knew I had to give it a try.

I am usually not a waffle girl ( cleaning up the waffle iron is  not my favorite thing) , pancakes make for an easy peasy clean up-but I wanted to stick to the original recipe so I dusted off the good ole waffle maker.

wiaw-fall-into-good-habits-button

Thank you Jen for hosting!

Paleo Pumpkin Waffles

I had all these ingredients right in my pantry.

IMG_0925

Recipe

The Paleo Kitchen Pumpkin Waffles

Serves: 5
Ingredients
2 large bananas, mashed
1⁄2 cup (120 ml) pumpkin puree
5 large eggs
1⁄2 cup (125 grams) almond butter
1⁄4 cup (50 grams) melted coconut oil, plus more for greasing the waffle iron
1⁄2 cup (75 grams) coconut flour
2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of fine-grain sea salt
maple syrup, for serving
Instructions
Preheat the waffle iron.
Combine the bananas, pumpkin puree, eggs, almond butter, and coconut oil in a food processor or blender and mix well until the bananas are well blended with the other ingredients. Once smooth, add the coconut flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, baking powder, vanilla, and salt and blend until well mixed.
Lightly brush the waffle iron with the melted coconut oil. Using the waffle manufacturer’s guidelines for suggested cup [milliliter] quantity, ladle the batter into the preheated and greased waffle maker and spread it evenly across the surface, leaving a 1⁄2-inch (12-mm) border (the batter will spread with you close the lid). Cook, following the manufacturer’s directions, and when done set aside on a plate and keep warm while you cook the remaining waffles.
Yields 5 waffles

IMG_0927

And TADA we have waffles!!!

IMG_0929

Waffles drizzled with some maple syrup= Taste Bud Party!

IMG_0931-2

Easy Peasy. 🙂

 So Glad I have leftovers to freeze for another day.

I hope everyone has a great week!!

Pancakes or Waffles?

What is your favorite pumpkin item?

11 thoughts on “WIAW- Paleo Pumpkin Waffles

  1. Jessie says:

    Those waffles look beautiful. I’m assuming you won’t be sharing the recipe, huh? 😦

    Like

  2. Marnie @ SuperSmartMama says:

    Stopping in to say hi from Jenn’s WIAW!! I am always on the hunt for Paleo breakfasts. My husband has just started eating Paleo alongside me and he hasn’t liked any of the Paleo pancake or waffle recipes we’ve tried so far. I’ll try this recipe.

    Waffles all the way!!

    Like

    • therudster23 says:

      I really liked it! This was actually the first one that tasted like regular whole wheat pancakes! I can post the recipe if you would like! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ve been eying that recipe in their book too! I’m not even a huge waffle fan but can’t pass up pumpkin waffles!

    Like

  4. Pumpkin Spice is my favorite pumpkin. I know it’s not pumpkin but I put that ish on everything lately!! I’ve really been enjoying my pumpkin cookies. Sigh I have to make more because they disappear too quickly! This waffle looks awesome! Thanks for sharing

    Like

  5. Kay Bueno says:

    Woah, your waffles turned out so perfect. Literally. Like model waffles.

    And while I love them. I have to go team pancake.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

