Fitness Friday- H.I.I.T./ Treadmill Workouts

Leave a comment

10/03/2014 by therudster23

It’s finally Friday! I wanted to kick off the weekend with some of my favorite cardio workouts I have been incorporating at the end of my strength training workouts. First, let me start off with saying I will always be a distance runner at heart. There is no better feeling than a long run!  Running to me is the ultimate therapy, it relaxes me, reduces my anxiety, and there is no greater feeling of accomplishment when it is over. I know all my distance runners understand exactly what I mean. Can we say runners high? And yes, it definitely exists!

running quote

As much as I love a good long run, I also love incorporating H.I.I.T. ( High Intensity Interval Training) workouts on the treadmill 2-3 times a week ranging from 15-20 minutes.

What is H.I.I.T. ?

 By definition H.I.T. is High-intensity interval training (HIIT) describes any workout that alternates between intense bursts of activity and fixed periods of less-intense activity or even complete rest. For example, a good starter workout is running as fast as you can for 1 minute and then walking for 2 minutes. Repeat that 3-minute interval five times for a 15-minute, fat-blasting workout. It sounds too simple to be effective, but science doesn’t stretch the truth.  ( Source shape.com)

What are the benefits of H.I.I.T.?

There are numerous benefits, but I will just list a few.

Super-efficient

HIIT is the ideal workout for a busy schedule—whether you want to squeeze in a workout during your lunch break or to get in shape for a fast-approaching event. Research shows you can achieve more progress in a mere 15 minutes of interval training (done three times a week) than the girl jogging on the treadmill for an hour.

Burns More Fat
Not only do you burn more calories during a HIIT workout, but the effect of all that intense exertion kicks your body’s repair cycle into hyperdrive. That means you burn more fat and calories in the 24 hours after a HIIT workout than you do after, say, a steady-pace run.

No Equipment Necessary
Running, biking, jump roping, and rowing all work great for HIIT, but you don’t need any equipment to get it done. High knees, fast feet, or anything plyometric like jumping lunges work just as well to get your heart rate up fast. In fact, some equipment like dumbbells can make HIIT less effective because you want the focus to be on pushing your heart to its max, not your biceps.

Lose Weight, Not Muscle
Anyone who has been on a diet knows that it’s hard to not lose muscle mass along with fat. While steady state cardio seems to encourage muscle loss, studies show that both weight training and HIIT workouts allow dieters to preserve their hard-earned muscles while ensuring most of the weight lost comes from fat stores. Win/win!

– As someone who is looking to shed some fat, while maintaining my muscles, I have really noticed a difference since doing this type of training!

Source : Shape Magazine 

 

Are you sold yet? Well, I hope so! This may be exactly what you need to switch up your workout routine or just try something new!

  If you aren’t a fan of the treadmill, H.I.I.T. workouts can be done on the elliptical, stair master,and also Tabata style!

Now, I would love to share with you some of my favorite H.I.I.T Treadmill Workouts! I am a lover of Julie’s blog, and it was actually the first blog I ever read! It is definitely one of my favorites! Great recipes and workouts!! So here are a few of my favorite H.I.I.T.  treadmill workouts written by her.

treadmill-interval-workout_thumb

30-Minute-Treadmill-Interval-Workout_thumb

Try these workouts, I promise you won’t be disappointed!! Thanks Julie!!

Have a great Friday and fabulous weekend!!

Have you tried any H.I.I.T workouts?

What is your cardio of choice?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

