#WIAW- Paleo Recipes

6

09/10/2014 by therudster23

Happy Wednesday everyone! I have still been eating 80/20 Paleo with a little bit of fun foods here and there…because..that’s life and I want to be balanced 🙂 I have still been eating a lot of the same foods, BUT this week I have 2 new recipes to share with you!

 

Thanks again Jen for hosting!

WIAW

I stumbled onto Thelittlehoneybee blog- Which is amazing by the way. We share so many of the same interests, beliefs, not to mention we both follow the Paleo lifestyle. I have been looking for new, quick and simple recipes to switch things up a bit. Voila!! I found her Apple Chicken Burgers. Her recipe was amazing, easy and required minimal ingredients ( which gets 5 stars in my book.)

Head over to her blog for the recipe! Thanks Amy!

photo 3

 

Despite the hot temperatures in Chicago I have been craving some comfort food..Paleo style of course! So I whipped out one of my favorite Paleo/ Whole 30 recipe books, Well Fed By Melissa Joulwan. I present you Chocolate Chili! Now, I know what some of you may be thinking chocolate chili.. YUCK! It’s simply a hint of chocolate, using unsweetened cocoa powder. Don’t knock it until you try it. I would recommend this recipe! My mom and boyfriend were both was hesitant the first time I made it, but they both loved it! Perfect fall food, and makes great leftovers.

photo 4

 

Chocolate Chili ( I substituted ground turkey) and had it on top of spaghetti squash and added some sliced avocado.  YUM!

 

Recipe from Well Fed Cookbook

Prep 20 min | Cook 2-3 hours | Serves 6-8
Ingredients:
2 tablespoons coconut oil
2 medium onions, diced (about 2 cups)
4 cloves garlic, minced (about 4 teaspoons)
2 pounds ground beef
1 teaspoon dried oregano leaves
2 tablespoons chili powder
2 tablespoons ground cumin
1 1/2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1 teaspoon salt
1 can (6 ounces) tomato paste
1 can (14.5 ounces) fire-roasted, chopped tomatoes
1 can (14.5 ounces) beef broth
1 cup water
Directions:
1. Heat a large, deep pot over medium-high heat, then add the coconut oil. When the oil is melted, add onions, stir with a wooden spoon and cook until they’re translucent, about 7 minutes. Add the garlic and as soon as it’s fragrant, about 30 seconds, crumble the ground meat into the pan with your hands, mixing with the wooden spoon to combine. Continue to cook the meat, stirring often, until it’s no longer pink.
2. In a small bowl, crush the oregano between your palms to release its flavor, then add the chili powder, cumin, cocoa, allspice, and salt. Combine with a fork, then add to the pot, stirring like you mean it. Add tomato paste and stir until combined, about 2 minutes.
3. Add the tomatoes with their juice, beef broth, and water to the pot. Stir well. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat so the chili enjoys a gentle simmer. Simmer uncovered for at least two hours. Do not skimp on the simmer! Serve in deep bowls with big spoons.
Variations:
Try a meat combo by mixing ground beef with ground turkey, pork, or bison.
Make a double batch and freeze half so you have chili-on-demand.
Top with sliced olives, diced onions, and/or avocado slices.

 

Last but definitely not least I have been on a HUGE sweet potato kick. I love them mashed, baked, topped with almond and coconut butter, fry and wedge form. I may or may not have bought 4 lbs. at Sam’s. Don’t judge me.. So this week I decided to roast them in coconut oil with paprika and cinnamon ( perfect savory and sweet combo) to have for meals this week. Do I get points for creativity?

photo 2

Last weekend I went to a comedy show downtown Chicago with my dad, his fiancé and her daughter. We went out for Greek food at Greek Islands. Fun food alert- Paleo Police look away! It was definitely my treat/ non paleo meal of the week, and I had absolutely no regrets. We had wine, calamari, and I got a combo of lamb( gyro meat) with white meat chicken! I didn’t stuff myself, simply ate till I was satisified. It was delicious!

unnamed

Well I hope everyone has a great week, and I hope to have some more recipes to share next week!!

What is your favorite way to have sweet potatoes?

Have you tried any new recipes lately?

-Rudi

6 thoughts on “#WIAW- Paleo Recipes

  1. The apple chicken burgers and sweet potato sound fab.. Going to try them for dinner tonight!

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    So glad you enjoyed the burgers! And thanks for the kind words – so sweet 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m slightly obsessed with Sweet Potatoes.. I started eating them when I tried Paleo a year and a half ago and now they are a staple in my diet!!

    Like

  4. Ashley @MilesonOats says:

    Aw you are making me crave chili like crazy! I want to make chili in my croc pot when winter comes, but will have to get crafty with the protein…maybe baby shrimp? But then it will be more of a jumbo…hmmm….I’ve got to brainstorm that one. Kudos to you for such a detailed recipe! Very informative and helpful for your readers. Now I am craving chili…thank goodness tomorrow is groccery day 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

